
 
|
 |
 |

Research
Resources > Subject Guides
Subject
Guide for Art & Architecture
A selected list of sources for
Architecture, Art & Art History.
For more information, contact the Reference
& Information Services Department.
CU
= Resources marked with this symbol are available on campus and to students,
staff, and faculty from an
off-campus location.
Use of these resources is subject to
copyright laws and license limitations.
Atlases
Atlas
of Western Art History
With maps and photographs to illustrate, this volume provides a comprehensive
overview of Western art from the ancient world through to modern times.
ARTARC REF G1046.E64 S7 1994 LIB USE ONLY
The
World Atlas of Archaeology
Study of archaeology ranging from Prehistoric Europe to the Modern Period.
Focuses on the subjects of: extensions within the field; content; new approaches;
excavation; surveying; conservation; limits of excavation; archeography and
archeometry; publication and data banks; artifacts; cultural systems; spatiality,
and; cultural heritage in the field of archaeology.
ARTARC REF G1046.E15 W6 1985 LIB USE ONLY
Bibliographic Guides
Architecture
: a bibliographic guide to basic reference works, histories, and handbooks /
Donald L. Ehresmann
ARTARC REF Z5941.E38 1984 LIB USE ONLY
Art
and Architecture in Canada: A Bibliography and Guide to the Literature
to 1981 / Loren R. Lerner & Mary F. Williamson
Provides the most significant contributions to the literature of art and
architecture in Canada published between 1825 and 1981. Each of the 9,555
bibliographic entries is annotated in English and/or French, following the
language of the citation. Subject areas are arranged by topic and by geographical
area. Bilingual index by author and subject. (2 volumes)
ARTARC REF Z5961.C3 L47 1991 LIB USE ONLY
Bibliographic
Guide to Art and Architecture
Multiple editions (mostly in two volumes) listing publications catalogued
during the previous year for each edition. It also serves as an annual supplement
to the Dictionary Catalog of the Art and Architecture Division of the Research
Libraries of the New York Public Library.
ARTARC REF Z5939 .B5 LIB USE ONLY
Fine
arts: a bibliographic guide to basic reference works, histories, and
handbooks / Donald L. Ehresmann, 3rd Edition.
Divided into two parts: 1. reference works covering periodical articles and
books published after 1830 to September 1st, 1988. 2. histories and handbooks
covering books published after 1875 to September 1st, 1988.
ARTARC REF Z5931 .E47 1990 LIB USE ONLY
Guide
to Reference Books / American Library Association
REF DEPT RDYREF Z1035.1 .S43 11th 1996 LIB USE ONLY
Guide
to the Literature of Art History / Etta Arntzen, Robert Rainwater
Bibliography addressing subject research in the field of art history. Divided
into four parts: general reference sources; materials for the study of art
history; literature concerning the various media, and; serials. The cut-off
date for inclusion in this publication was 1977.
ARTARC REF Z5931 .A67 LIB USE ONLY
World
architecture index : a guide to illustrations / compiled
by Edward H. Teague
ARTARC REF NA202 .T4 1991 LIB USE ONLY
Biographical Dictionaries and Information
Contemporary
Artists / editor, Joann Cerrito
Entries consist of biographies, lists of individual exhibitions, selected
group exhibitions, and collections in which the entrant's work is included
(limited to 10 entries). Many of the living entrants supplied autobiographical
text.
ARTARC REF N6490 .C6567 1996 LIB USE ONLY
Dictionnaire
des Peintres, Sculpteurs, Dessinateurs / E. Bénézit
After Theime-Becker, this is the most useful universal dictionary of artists.
Contains over 300,000 biographies of artists who have worked from the 5th
century B.C. to present times. The length of individual entries varies from
a few lines to essays. Frequently includes facsimiles of artists' signatures,
prizes received, holding museums and collections, prices realized, and bibliographies.
ARTARC REF N40 .B47 1999 LIB USE ONLY
Dictionary
of Contemporary American Artists / Paul Cummings, 6th edition
Provides information for 900 artists. Selection criteria for artist selection
were: representation in museums; public or private collections; representation
in major American and international exhibitions; influence as teachers, and;
recognition received from fellow artists, dealers, critics, and others with
a professional interest in the fine arts.
ARTARC REF N6512 .C854 1994 LIB USE ONLY
Mantle
Fielding's Dictionary of American Painters, Sculptors & Engravers /
edited by Glenn B. Opitz, 2nd edition
A reference tool for American artists who worked during the 18th to 20th
centuries. The entries are intended to be an introductory guide for further
study.
ARTARC REF N6536 .F5 1986 LIB USE ONLY
Index
to Artistic Biography
Information consists of: artist's name; dates; nationality; media employed,
and; a three-letter code referring to the books which hold pertinent biographical
information. The work is cross-referenced for alternative names and variant
spellings. Latest supplement: 2002.
ARTARC REF N40 .H38 LIB USE ONLY
Thieme-Becker/Vollmer
Gesamtregister / [Datenverarbeitung, Andreas Klimt, Mathias
Wündisch]
The most comprehensive scholarly dictionary of artists. Commonly known simply
as Thieme-Becker. Includes, as nearly as possible, all known painters, sculptors,
engravers, architects, and decorative artists. Signed articles by outstanding
scholars, long bibliographies. Locations of works of art frequently given.
Numerous cross-references.
ARTARC REF N40 .T45 1996 LIB USE ONLY
Allgemeines
Künstler-Lexikon: die bildenden Künstler aller Zeiten und Völker /
Saur (see Thieme-Becker)
A continuing multi-volume dictionary of artists in alphabetically order.
Note: Library has a standing order to acquire the entire set - have received
up to volume 39.
ARTARC REF N40 .A63 1983 Bd.34 LIB USE ONLY
Encyclopaedias and dictionaries
Art
and Architecture Thesaurus (Getty Art History Information Program)
The second edition, six-volume set, covers the terminology for the art and
architecture of the Western world from antiquity to the present. In addition,
fields within art and architecture are defined. Provides the controlled vocabulary
(subject headings) for art and architecture.
ARTARC REF Z695.1.A7 A76 1994 LIB USE ONLY
The
Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art and Artists / edited by Ian
Chilvers
A sharply focused reference book for Western and Western-inspired painting,
sculpture, and graphic art, from the 5th century B.C. (the Classical age
of Greek art) to the present day. Artists born after 1945 are not included.
ARTARC REF N33 .C59 2003 LIB USE ONLY
Critical
Terms for Art History / edited by Robert S. Nelson and Richard
Shiff
Contains essays about art history in the late twentieth century, the main
focus being on words about images and the artistic practices that they define.
Indexed.
ARTARC STACKS N34 .C75 2003 LIB USE ONLY
Grove
Dictionary of Art / edited by Jane Turner
One of the most comprehensive dictionaries on art in the world, Grove is
more an encyclopedia than a dictionary. Contains biographies on artists and
architects, with a bibliography supplied at the end of each entry. Includes
entries on architecture, photography, decorative arts, painting, sculpture,
performance art, and multimedia installations. Art periods are also described.
ARTARC REF N6847 .G758 2000 LIB USE ONLY and online at http://www.groveart.com/
Handbook
of Modern British Painting and Printmaking, 1900-1990 / edited
by Alan Windsor
Dictionary-style handbook to the life and work of modern British
painters and printmakers, 1900-1990, providing biographical information.
Covers over 2,000 artists, including entries on schools of art, museums,
galleries and collections, societies and groups that influenced the
development of modern art in Britain.
ARTARC REF N6768 .H26 1998 LIB USE ONLY
Praeger
Encyclopedia of Art
A history of world art with 4,000 alphabetically arranged entries,
5,000 fully integrated illustrations, and 3,000+ biographies. Articles
are complemented by information on periods, styles, schools, and
movements. Included are surveys dealing with civilizations for which
no artists' names are known.
ARTARC REF N33 .P68 LIB USE ONLY
International
Dictionary of Art and Artists
A two-volume set, volume one Artists gives information on selected artists
from the 13th to 20th centuries. Entries are divided into four parts: the
essential facts in the artist's career; the most important public and private
collections of his/her work; a bibliography of titles and dates of publication
of books and articles, and; a critical essay discussing historical and critical
aspects of the artist. Volume two Art discusses 500 individual works of art,
arranged in chronological order.
ARTARC REF N7425 .I67 1990 LIB USE ONLY
Guides and handbooks
Art
History / Marilyn Stokstad, in collaboration with David Cateforis
A two volume comprehensive synopsis of the history of art. Coverage begins
with prehistory and prehistoric art in Europe and ends with the international
avant-garde since 1945.
ARTARC REF N5300 .S923 2002 LIB USE ONLY
Art
in History / Larry Silver
A survey of the history of art, provides elaborate discussions
of the artists mentioned in the text. Supplement use of this volume
with Stokstad's two volume set mentioned above.
ARTARC REF N5300 .S5 1993 LIB USE ONLY
Art
Information : Research Methods and Resources / Lois Swan Jones
This guide was created for people involved in the arts, such
as students, professors, librarians, curators, collectors, artists,
architects and designers. Provides a description of most of the major
sources for art research and explains how to use them.
ARTARC REF N85 .J64 1990 LIB USE ONLY
Guide
to Basic Information Sources in the Visual Arts / by Gerd Muehsam
A handbook intended to guide students and researchers to the
basic information sources in the visual arts. Slightly outdated -
does not provide information on sources available online.
ARTARC REF N7425 .M88 LIB USE ONLY
History
of Art / H.W. Janson, Anthony F. Janson
Divided into four parts covering the Ancient World, Middle Ages,
Renaissance to the Rococo, and the Modern World. Deals with subjects
such as the evolution of style, iconography, feminism, multiculturalism,
semiotics, and deconstruction.
ARTARC REF N5300 .J3 2001 LIB USE ONLY
Research
Guide to the History of Western Art / W. Eugene Kleinbauer and
Thomas P. Slavens
Describes the discipline of art history and then supplies a selection
of major reference works for the study of Western art.
ARTARC REF N380 .K56 1982 LIB USE ONLY
A
Short Guide to Writing About Art / Sylvan Barnet
Contains sample essays by students, professors, and published
scholars in the discipline of art history. The main purpose of this
book is to help students improve the manner in which they write about
art. The emphasis is on seeing and saying, and presenting those ideas
effectively in writing.
ARTARC REF N7476 .B37 2000 LIB USE ONLY
Index to photographs and reproductions
Illustration
Index / Marsha C. Appel, 4th edition
Index to illustrations including: furniture; wildlife; art works, and; individual
personalities. Each illustration is treated separately allowing for more
thorough subject coverage.
REF DEPT STACKS N7525 .V3 1980 LIB USE ONLY
Index
to Art Reproductions in Books / Compiled by the professional
staff of the Hewlett-Woodmere Public Library under the direction of Elizabeth
W. Thomson
A finding aid for the location of reproductions in some excellent art books
published during the 1950s to the 1970s.
ARTARC REF N7525 .H48 1974 LIB USE ONLY
Index
to Reproductions of European Paintings; a guide to pictures in more than
three hundred books / Isabel Stevenson Monro and Kate M. Monro
A guide to pictures by European artists that are reproduced in 328 books.
The paintings are entered under name, distinctive title, and occasionally
subject. Whenever permanent locations could be determined, this information
has been included.
ARTARC REF ND45 .M6 LIB USE ONLY
Marburger
Index Datenbank [electronic resource] : Wegweiser zur Kunst in Deutschland
= Marburger index database : guide to art in Germany
A microfiche catalogue of fine art and architecture in Germany from the Bildarchiv
Foto Margurg. Photographs of works of art in German institutions. German
and foreign art. Photographs from 1850 to the 1995. Also includes some works
from primitive art onward found in German institutions. Use this source in
conjunction with ICONCLASS, an iconographic classification system.
ARTARC OFFICE N6868 .M3 1995 LIB USE ONLY
Sculpture
Index
A guide to pictures of sculpture from about 950 selected publications that
may be found in public, college, and special libraries. Vol. 1 - Sculpture
of Europe and the Contemporary Middle East, and Vol. 2 - Sculpture of Americas,
Orient, Africa, Pacific Area, and Classical World. Also provides an extensive
list of sculptors, locations of sculptured works, and titles of works by
sculptor.
ARTARC REF NB36 .C55 LIB USE ONLY
World
Painting Index
Provides the user with a tool for locating reproductions of paintings in
books and catalogs published between 1940 up to early 1975. Comes with supplements,
the first supplement covering 1973 -1980, the second covering 1980 - 1989.
ARTARC REF ND45 .H38 LIB USE ONLY
Library catalogs and exhibition catalogs
Library
Catalog of the Metropolitan Museum of Art, New York
48-volume catalogue reproducing approximately 1,000,000 catalog cards of
the leading art history research library in the Western Hemisphere. Supplementary
volumes are published periodically. 2d ed., rev. and enl
ARTARC REF Z881 .N6622 1980 v. 1-48 LIB USE ONLY
Library of Congress Classification
N - Visual Arts
NA - Architecture.
NB - Sculpture.
NC - Drawing. Design. Illustration.
ND - Painting.
NE - Print media.
NK - Decorative arts.
NX - Arts in general.
TR - Photography
Online Guides
Architecture
and Construction Resources @ Georgia Tech
http://www.library.gatech.edu/subject/arch_ref.htm
Art
History Resources @ UC Berkeley
http://www.lib.berkeley.edu/ARTH/arthistresources.html
Art Resources
@ UTexas
http://www.lib.utexas.edu/fal/artresources.html
Locationg Images
of Buildings @ UTexas
http://www.lib.utexas.edu/apl/images.html
Research
Resources in Art History: A Brief Guide @ UC Berkeley
http://www.lib.berkeley.edu/ARTH/researchresources.html
Where can
I find information on specific buildings? pdf file @ UTexas
http://www.lib.utexas.edu/apl/buildings.PDF
Periodical indexes
CU Academic
Search Premier
Provides full text journal coverage for nearly all academic areas of study
- including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering,
language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic
studies.
CU Architectural
Index on the Web
Searches by Building Type/Subject, Architect/Designer, Location /State or
Country and Location/City.
CU ARTbibliographies
Modern:
Cambridge Scientific Abstracts
Abstracts of journal articles, books, essays, exhibition catalogs, PhD dissertations,
and exhibition reviews on all forms of modern and contemporary art.
Coverage: 1974 to the present.
CU Art
Index
Subjects include: Advertising Art, Antiques, Archaeology, Architecture and
Architectural History, Art History, Computers inArt, Crafts, Decorative Arts,
Fashion Design, Folk Art, Graphic Arts, Industrial Design, Interior Design,
Landscape Architecture, Motion Pictures, Museology, Non-Western Art, Painting,
Photography, Pottery, Sculpture, Television, Textiles, Video
Coverage: 1984 to the present.
CU Art
Index Retrospective 1929-1984
Bibliographic database that cumulates citations to Art Index volumes 1-32
of the printed index published between 1929-1984.
CU Arts
and Humanities Citation Index
Indexes the world's leading arts and humanities journals.
Coverage : 1980 to the present.
CU Avery
Index to Architectural Periodicals
Index to journal articles on architecture and design, including the history
and practice of architecture, landscape architecture, city planning, historic
preservation, and interior design and decoration.
Coverage : 1741 to the present.
CU Bibliography
of the History of Art
Indexes and abstracts articles, art-related books, conference proceedings,
dissertations, and art exhibition and dealer's catalogs.
Coverage: 1973 - present.
CU Grove
Dictionary of Art
Online reference resource for all aspects of the visual arts worldwide from
prehistory to the present day.
CU Humanities
Abstracts/Full Text
Abstracts and some full text covering diverse subject areas of the humanities.
Coverage: Abstracts from 1985 to the present; full text from 1995 to the
present.
CU Iter:
Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance
Bibliography of interdisciplinary literature pertaining to the Middle Ages
and Renaissance (400-1700).
CU Johns
Hopkins University Project Muse
Full-text, full-image journals. Covers the fields of literature and criticism,
history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political
science, gender studies, economics, and many others.
CU Periodicals
Contents Index (PCI)
Index to the contents of thousands of periodicals in the humanities and social
sciences since 1770.
Periodical Titles
For a list of journal titles held by the Libraries, search in Chinook under "Library
of Congress (LC) Subject Heading" using the words "art
periodicals". Please note this is a specific LC heading -- using
other subject headings will yield different results. Doing a "Word" search
and using "art
periodicals" will also yield different results.
Searching
in Chinook
Search the CHINOOK Catalog for book and journal titles.
Search the CHINOOK Catalog under Library of Congress Subject Headings such
as:
art Latin America* (or German*, Asia*, etc.)
art 19th century (or 20th century, etc.)
artists engl* (or russia*, spanish or spain, etc.)
art - - exhibitions (or competitions, exhibitions, etc.)
art African (or American, Anglo-Saxon, etc.)
art, medieval (or renaissance, baroque, etc.)
Style manuals
APA
Publication
Manual of the American Psychological Association
5th edition, Washington, DC: American Psychological Association, 2001.
REF DEPT RDYREF BF76.7 .P83 2001 LIB USE ONLY
APA: Electronic
Reference
"Because electronic media change rapidly, we will update this page
regularly as there are additions, changes, or clarifications to APA style."
MLA
MLA
Handbook for Writers of Research Papers by Joseph Gibaldi.
6th edition, New York: Modern Language Association of America, 2003.
REF DEPT RDYREF LB2369 .G53 2003 c.2 LIB USE ONLY
MLA:
Minimal Guidelines for Authors of Web Pages
These guidelines recommend the minimal reference information
that should be provided on Web pages intended for use by students,
teachers, and scholars in the modern languages. This information
will help readers to use, evaluate, search for, and cite information
found on the Web.
APA & MLA
Electronic
Styles: a Handbook for Citing Electronic Information by
Xia Li and Nancy B. Crane. Medford, NJ: Information Today, 1996.
REF DEPT RDYREF PN171.F56 L5 1996 LIB USE ONLY
Turabian & Chicago
A
Manual for Writers of Term Papers, Theses, and Dissertations by
Kate L. Turabian, rev. by John Grossman and Alice Bennet. 6th edition,
Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 1996.
REF DEPT RDYREF LB2369 .T8 1996 LIB USE ONLY
UCB Art Programs
Art (Ceramics,
Digital Arts, Drawing & Painting, Photography, Printmaking, Sculpture)
Art History
College of
Architecture & Planning
Visual Resources
Art Museum Image Consortium
(AMICO)
http://www.amico.org/
"The Art Museum Image Consortium (AMICO) is an not-for-profit organization
of institutions with collections of art, collaborating to enable educational
use of museum multimedia. The AMICO Library is a licensed digital educational
resource available under subscription to universities and colleges, public
libraries, elementary and secondary schools, and museums. It represents works
in the collections of AMICO Members. "
While this source of art images is not fully accessable to everyone at this
time, the potential for the connected is enormous. AMICO is part of the Art
Museum Nework and developed by the Association
of Art Museum Directors.
Corbis
http://www.corbis.com/
"Corbis is the world's preeminent visual solutions provider—licensing
images seen by millions of people daily in advertising, books, newspapers,
magazines, on TV, and in films." Includes the Bettmann Archives.
Digital
Image
http://lib.haifa.ac.il/www/art/digital_image.html
Digital Image is a web site that contains a large source of art
images. It contains information on the concept of digital images, a large
database of art images, and links to other image databases. The directory
of images is chronologically and alphabetically arranged.
Finding
Images on the Web
http://www.bu.edu/library/instruction/findimages/
Boston University Libraries' excellent web site that provides the
reader with information on various of aspects of the topic including searching,
downloading, and copywrite issues. Of particular interest are the sections
titled: Image Search Engines, Arts, Clip Art, and Photography. An excellent
bibliography is also provided by Ruth S. Thomas of the Mugar Memorial Library
at Boston University.
Image
Collections and Online Art
http://www.umich.edu/~hartspc/histart/mother/images.html
A part of the University of Michigan's "Mother of All
Art & Art History Links Page."
Google Image Search
http://images.google.com/
"Google's Image Search is the most comprehensive on
the Web, with more than 425 million images indexed and available for viewing.
The images identified by the Google Image Search service may be protected
by copyrights."
Websites
Art
History Association (UCBoulder)
http://www.colorado.edu/finearts/arthistory/aha.htm
College Arts Association (National)
http://www.collegeart.org/
The Mother of
All Art and Art History Links (UMichigan)
http://www.art-design.umich.edu/mother/
|
 |
 |