
University Libraries >
Research Resources >
Research & Subject Guides >
Subject
Guide for English & American Literature
English & American Literature: Critical materials
on authors; book
reviews of novels, biographies, and critical works of literature; novels;
plays; poems; short stories.
Reference & Instructional Services and/or
Libraries materials include catalogs and/or databases to answer your literary
inquiries.
Find
databases by title: English & American Literature
Selected Web Resources
Web resources for serious exploration of English & American
Literature.
The following is a highly selective list of literary web-resources:
Literary
Index is a sound assessment of significant literary
resources available on the WWW with connections to recommended sites.
Literary Resources
on the Net at the University of Pennsylvania is a major WWW source
of literary sites.
Missing Pages is
another useful site of relevant web sources related to Literature developed
by UCB English Department Faculty Member, Dr. Mary Klages.
Voice of the Shuttle is a major site
listing connections to literary sites concerned with English and American
Literature, Minority Literature, and other English literary classifications
by genre or country.
Gender
Studies lists a multitude of sites dealing with women
studies; feminist theory; gay, lesbian, and queer studies;
and much more.
Literary
Theory sites on the WWW will be found at this location.
Author Resources
To find books by an author do an AUTHOR
search in Chinook.
To find books about an author or an author's
work, do a WORD search in
Chinook and type in the author's name. It is usually useful to type in
the last name first.
To find critical journal articles about authors
and/or their work, the primary and most comprehensive index/database is the MLA .
Alternate, though not as in-depth, indexes/databases are HUMANITIES ABSTRACTS or ARTICLES
1st. To get to any one of these three indexes, connect through Chinook
to the FIRSTSEARCH Gold Option, then select the Humanities Topic
area.
REMEMBER: To see if the University Libraries has the journal, look
up the journal's name in Chinook's PERIODICAL
search.
Reference Works which contain short biographical/critical
articles about authors are:
DICTIONARY OF LITERARY BIOGRAPHY
REF PS129 .D52
Look in the "Index" of the latest volume to find
in which volume the discussion of a particular author will be
found.
AMERICAN WRITERS
REF PS129 .A55
BRITISH WRITERS
REF PR85 .B688
Five sets found in Reference which contain
limited critical article excerpts on particular authors of the period or
on a specific work are:
CONTEMPORARY LITERARY CRITICISM
REF PN86 .C16
TWENTIETH CENTURY LITERATURE CRITICISM
REF PN771 .G27
NINETEENTH CENTURY LITERATURE CRITICISM
REF PN761 .N5
LITERATURE CRITICISM FROM 1400 to 1800
REF PN86 .L53
SHAKESPEARE CRITICISM
REF PR2965 .S43
There are numerous other short biographical reference
works. A good index to
authors listed in these is the BIOGRAPHY and GENEALOGY MASTER INDEX.
Use the Reference Network , Antero Computer, to locate this index and it
may suggest a specific reference work to consult.
Novel Resources
To find information in books about a novel, do
a WORD search on Chinook under
the author's name and under the title of the work (use both). Once you get
to that area of the Norlin stack, make certain you check "indexes" of all
books in that specified area under the title of the work.
To find critical journal articles about a novel, the primary most comprehensive
index/database is the MLA. Look under the title of the work, as well as under
the author's name.
Two alternative indexes are the Humanities Index and the Academic Index. A
set of alternative reference resources which contain excerpted reviews and
critical articles are: Contemporary Literary Criticism, Twentieth Century Literary
Criticism, Nineteenth Century Literary Criticism, 17th Century Literary Criticism,
Shakespearean Criticism, etc.
Poetry Resources
Books about a specific poem generally are not found
in the Library. However, sections of books which provide a critical discussion
of an author's overall work may discuss a specific poem. Connect to Chinook,
do a WORD search on the author's name to find where those books are in the
Library. Go to that area and look in each book's 'Index' under that specific
Poem's title.
There are usually only a few critical articles written about
specific poems. For those few articles the primary most comprehensive index/database
is the "MLA." Use
the title of the work to see if there are specific references. Using the
author's name may retrieve general critical discussion about an author's
poetic work. Alternative indexes/databases are the Humanities Index and the
Academic Index.
The best resources for finding critical discussions about specific poems are
the following bibliographies. Under the poet's name, look for the title of
the poem and check Chinook to see if the work or journal is in the Library.
Ask at the reference desk for further assistance.
|