
 
|
 |
 |

University Libraries >
Research Resources >
Research & Subject Guides >
Subject
Guide for Music
The Music Subject Guide is a compilation of print and online resources available
through the Howard
B. Waltz Music Library, including websites and online databases that
are available from home with the CU
Virtual Private Network. Use the subject guide at the start of a research
project to get a better feel for what the library has to offer. If you need
to look at listings of music -- specific online databases, use the Music
Subject List.
Outline
I. Essential Music Research Tools
II. Music Research Tools by Type
-- Library
Catalogs
-- General
Music Encyclopedias and Dictionaries
-- Special
Music Encyclopedias and Dictionaries
-- Music
Periodical and Dissertation Indexes
-- General
Periodical Indexes and Sources of Full Text
-- Collected Works, Historical Sets, Musical Monuments, and Anthologies
-- Thematic Catalogs
-- Music Histories
-- Music Bibliographies
-- Discographies
-- Iconographies
-- Music Directories
-- Music Journals
III. Subject Specific Resources
-- Music
Theory
-- Musicology/Ethnomusicology
-- Music
Education
-- Jazz
-- Voice
IV. Useful Web -- Based Resources
-- Other
Library Catalogs
-- Directories
-- Professional
Associations
-- Other
Scholarly Resources
-- Music
Magazines
Content
I. Essential Music Research Tools
Baker’s
Biographical Dictionary of Musicians, ML105 .B16 2001 (Book). The
best and most comprehensive guide to musicians in English.
Grove
Music Online (Database). Grove Music Online comprises the
full text of The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, The New
Grove Dictionary of Opera, The Norton/Grove Dictionary of Women Composers, and The
New Grove Dictionary of Jazz.
Harvard Dictionary
of Music, ML100 .N485 2003 (Book). The best standard music terminology
dictionary.
International Index to Music Periodicals Full
Text(Database).This music journal database contains
more than half a million indexed articles, plus detailed abstracts and full
text from 1874 to the present, but focusing on 1996 onwards. It covers both
scholarly and popular music subjects.
Music
Index (Database), alsoMusic
Index, ML118 .M84 (Book). Music Index covers 690 periodicals,
focused on Western art music. Online coverage is from 1975 -- present. For
older materials (1949 -- 1974) check the hardcopy.
RILM
Abstracts of Music Literature (Database).The Répertoire
International de Littérature Musicale provides indexing and
abstracts for books, articles and other formats in musical scholarship,
going back to 1967.
WorldCat(Database).WorldCat is
a worldwide catalog created and maintained collectively by more than 9,000
member institutions. It is wide -- ranging, but not comprehensive, even for
member institutions. You can use the information in WorldCat to
make Interlibrary loan
requests.
II. Music Research Tools by Type
Library Catalogs: Chinook | Prospector | WorldCat
The Chinook Library Catalog searches all of the University’s
holdings of books, journals, scores, sound recordings and videos. It also
provides some links to the full text of journals online. If you cannot find
what you need, use the “Search Prospector” button
at the top of the page to search the catalogs of a dozen university and
public libraries across the Front Range in the Prospector Catalog.
If you need to look further, go to the WorldCat database
(also under “Find
Articles and More”) -- -- which shows library holdings
worldwide. You can also find online content for journals by using
the E -- Journal
Finder on the library homepage.
General Music Encyclopedias and Dictionaries
These
are some of the generalized music encyclopedias the library holds. They
are superb for finding overviews of a topic, as well as providing references
to other resources for further research. They range in size from a single
book to large multivolume sets. Some are available online.
Grove
Music Online (Database). Grove Music Online comprises
the full text of The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, The
New Grove Dictionary of Opera, The Norton/Grove Dictionary of Women Composers,
and The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz.
Harvard
Dictionary of Music, ML100 .N485 2003 (Book). The best standard
music terminology dictionary.
The
Norton/Grove Concise Encyclopedia of Music, ML100 .N88 1994 (Book).
This single -- volume encyclopedia is a little out of date, but still a
valuable resource aimed more at a narrower readership of music specialists.
The
Oxford Companion to Music, ML100 .O94 2002 (Book). This single
-- volume encyclopedia is more up-to-date than The Norton/Grove,
and is aimed at a broader readership as a quick reference.
Special Music Encyclopedias and Dictionaries
These are
just a handful of examples of the specialized encyclopedias the music library
holds. They are superb for finding overviews of a topic, as well as providing
references to other resources for further research. They range in size from
single paperback books to large multivolume sets. Some are available online.
Baker’s
Biographical Dictionary of Musicians, ML105 .B16 2001 (Book).
The best and most comprehensive guide to musicians in English.
Encyclopedia
of Popular Music, ML102 .P66 G84 2006 (Book). Largely covers
popular music in the U.S. and the U.K. It focuses on giving the popular
critical opinion on a given topic and is extremely up-to-date.
Encyclopedia
of the Musical Theater, ML102 .M88 G3 2001 (Book). Largely
covers musical theatre in the U.S. and the U.K.: performers, shows, composers,
authors and more.
The Garland Encyclopedia
of World Music Online,(Database), also The
Garland Encyclopedia of World Music, ML100
.G16 1998 (Book). Organized by region, the encyclopedia discusses each
culture/country in an introduction, and then discusses the issues in
the music and the processes involved in music-making. The online edition
can be browsed, or you can use the "Search" option. There
are over 9,000 pages from over 700 contributors, making it the preeminent
starting point for research in world music.
International
Who’s Who in Classical Music, ML105 .I57 (Book). The
major focus of this work is on living, active individuals in classical
music. The entrant gets an opportunity to edit and approve the articles
about themselves.
New
Grove Dictionary of American Music, ML101 .U6
N48 1986 (Book). Being an encyclopedia of American music, this work covers
the pluralistic nature of music in America, accommodating popular music
more so than the original New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians.
New
Grove Dictionary of Musical Instruments, ML102 .I5 N48 1984 (Book).
Many entries are similar to The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians,
but it has many original entries on non -- Western, folk and electronic instruments.
Music Periodical and Dissertation Indexes
Use the Music Subject
List to find journal articles, or follow the links to specific databases.
International Index to Music
Periodicals Full Text (Database). This music journal
resource includes more than half a million indexed articles, plus detailed
abstracts and full text from 1874 to the present. It includes a comprehensive
range of subject areas in both scholarly and popular music journals,
covering the full spectrum of subjects and all aspects of music, including
music education, performance, ethnomusicology, musical theatre, theory,
popular music forms and composition.
Music
Index (Database), also Music
Index, ML118 .M84 (Book). Music Index indexes 690 periodicals,
focused on Western art music. Online coverage is from 1975 -- present.
For older materials (1949 -- 1974) check the hardcopy.
RILM
Abstracts of Music Literature (Database). The Répertoire
International de Littérature Musicale provides indexing and
abstracts for 10,300+ journals, books, bibliographies, dissertations, critical
commentaries, complete works, conference proceedings, and other formats
in musical scholarship, from 1967—present. It covers all kinds of
music from Western classical to popular world music, and covers many areas
of academic study.
RIPM
Online (Database). The Répertoire International de la
Presse Musicale provides retrospective indexing of music periodicals
published approximately between 1800 and 1950.
General Periodical Indexes and Sources of Full Text
Academic
Search Premier (Database). Academic Search Premier is
an EBSCO database that provides full text to over 4,000 periodicals and
indexing for over 8,000 covering the arts and sciences in general, as well
as some popular magazines and newspapers. Generally covers from 1975—present.
Arts & Humanities Citation
Index (Database). The Arts and Humanities Citation Index is
a unique service that shows what articles an author cited, as well as who
cited a particular article. It is part of the Web of Science database,
and covers over 1,000 arts and humanities journals. Since it is a index,
you will need to use the
E-Journal
finder to get full text.E-Journal
Finder (Database). Use E-journal finder to locate
online, full text holdings of a specific journal at CU.
Humanities
Full Text (Database). Humanities Full Text provides
indexing from 1984, and selected full text from 1994, for a variety of
specialized and lesser -- known humanities journals.
InfoTrac
OneFile (Database). InfoTrac OneFile is a Thompson --
Gale Database, with more periodicals than Academic Search Premier (11,000),
but covers 1980—present.
International Index to the Performing
Arts Full Text (Database). This database focuses on theatre, dance,
opera, and film, including music related to these art forms. It provides
citations back to 1864, and abstracts of more recent articles, and some full
text.
JSTOR (Database).
Provides image and full text online access to back issues of 729 scholarly
journals in history, economics, political science, demography, mathematics
and other fields of the humanities and social sciences. There is generally
a one to five year delay between when content (journals, etc.) are published
and when it is put into JSTOR.
Project MUSE (Database). Full
-- text articles from over 300 high quality humanities, arts, and social
sciences journals from 60 scholarly publishers. It provides access to new
content (journals, etc.) and has links for the back issues of 25 journals
in JSTOR.
ProQuest
Dissertations and Theses (Database). This database includes citations
for dissertations ranging from 1861 to those accepted last semester. Dissertations
published from 1980 forward include 350 -- word abstracts; master's theses from
1988 forward include 150 -- word abstracts. Mostly, it covers English -- speaking
countries.
Collected Works, Historical Sets, Musical Monuments, and Anthologies
These
provide great overviews of a body of work. By composer, publisher, timeline,
genre, etc. Collected works are by composer, historical sets are collections
based on famous editions, and musical monuments largely focus on geographic
areas and/or time periods. There are many of these works; here is a
list of guides to them, and one full -- text online edition of Mozart.
Anthologies
of Music: an Annotated Index, ML128 .A7 M87 1992 (Book). This is
a single volume work, focused on Western art music. It has a thoughtful index
by genre (concerto, sonata, etc.), along with examples.
Grove
Music Online (Database). When you look an entry on composers,
go to the “works” list at the end of the entry. It will often
include information on where to find works, along with information on each
work.
Historical
Sets, Collected Editions, and Monuments of Music: a Guide to Their Contents,
ML113 .H52 1980 (Book). Also known as “Heyer,” this two volume
work aims to be definitive and detailed. It excludes folk and popular music.
It is dated, but still useful.
Index
to Printed Music: Collections and Series (Database),
formerly Collected
Editions, Historical Series & Sets, and Monuments of Music, ML113
.H55 1997 (Book). Similar in scope to Grove Music Online and Historical
Sets, Collected Editions…, but this work aims to be more selective.
It was compiled by a group of librarians, as opposed to single scholars.
Neue Mozart -- Ausgabe/
Digital Mozart Edition (Website). The Neue Mozart -- Ausgabe is
a comprehensive collection of Mozart’s music, both facsimiles of
his original scores and newly edited, modern versions. Also included are
other writings by Mozart, his musical notebooks, and composition studies
by his students.
Thematic Catalogs
These list compositions in a collection, or
of an individual composer, usually arranged by opus number or another ordering
scheme (BWV numbers for Bach, K. (Köchel) numbers for Mozart, etc.)
They include information about where to find a complete version of a work,
and include the opening bars.
Chronologisch -- Thematisches
Verzeichnis Sämtlicher Tonwerke Wolfgang Amadé Mozarts; Nebst
Angabe der Verlorengegangenen, Angefangenen, von fremder Hand Bearbeiteten,
Zweifelhaften und Unterschobenen Kompositionen, ML134 .M9 K55
1964 (Book). Also known as the “Köchel”, this is a listing
of the works of Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart. It is organized chronologically
by date of composition.
Das
Werk Beethovens; Thematisch -- Bibliographisches Verzeichnis Seiner Sämtlichen
Vollendeten Kompositionen, ML134.B4 K5 (Book). Also known
as the “Kinsky”, this is a listing of the works of Ludwig Van
Beethoven. This catalog is organized by the opus number of the work.
Hymn Tune Index (Website),
also Hymn
Tune Index: A Census of English -- language Hymn Tunes in Printed Sources from
1535 to 1820, BV305 .T46 1998 (Book). The
Hymn Tune Index contains hymn tunes with English -- language texts up to
1820, and their publication history up to that date. The database is searchable
by composer, tune title, the sequence of the opening notes, and the source
in which it was published, among other ways.
Thematisch
-- Systematisches Verzeichnis der Musikalischen Werke von Johann Sebastian
Bach : Bach -- Werke -- Verzeichnis (BWV), ML134
.B1 S3 1990 (Book). Also known as the “Schmieder,” this is
a listing of the works of Johann Sebastian Bach. It is organized by the
genre of the work.
Themefinder.org (Website).
TheThemefinder is a piece of free software you can use to tie a theme to
a specific piece of music by inputting starting pitches, intervals, and general
contours.
Music Histories
These are some general histories of Western music.
A
History of Western Music, ML160 .G872 2006 (Book). Called the “Grout” the “Grout
and Palisca” or the “Burkholder.” This is a one -- volume
history of Western music. It is also one of the major textbooks for undergraduate
music history courses.
The
Oxford History of Western Music, ML160 .T18 2005 (Book).
This is an expansive, six -- volume history of Western music, and it emphasizes
the stories of the people involved in music history.
Source
Readings in Music History, ML160 .S89 1998b (Book). This book collects
writings about music in Western history, from Ancient Greece to the 20th
century in translation. Because it is all primary sources, it is not exhaustive,
and is designed for teachers and students.
Music Bibliographies
The bibliographies at the music library
cover many different aspects of music, and introduce the researcher to sources
in their field.
Introduction
to Research in Music, ML3797 .W542 2001 (Book). This
book focuses on how to research and write a paper rather than on specific
sources. It is a little dated on electronic and online research materials.
Music in
Print Series (Database). Formerly known as “emusicquest,” Music
in Print is an online index used to search music published
in print by composer, dates, nationality, genre, period, title, publisher,
or instrument.
Music
Reference and Research Materials: An Annotated Bibliography, ML113
.D83 1997 (Book). This book, also called “Duckles” is a reference
tool designed for librarians. It is also very comprehensive, but dated.
Music Research: A Handbook, ML113 .S28 2009 (Book). This book is both a textbook for music bibliography, as well as an easy-to-use reference resource for any college student through the graduate level. See the related website.
Reader’s
Guide to Music: History, Theory, Criticism, ML160 .R42 1999
(Book). The Reader’s Guide gives an overview of key books
about a particular topic in music history, theory, and criticism. Its focus
is Western art music, and it largely covers books published in English.
RISM (Database),
also Répertoire
International des Sources Musicales, ML113 .I59 (Book). RISM documents
the world's musical sources of manuscripts or printed music, works on music
theory and libretti stored in libraries, archives, monasteries, schools and
private collections. The online part (Series A/II) covers music manuscripts
from 1600 -- 1800.
Sourcebook
for Research in Music, ML113 .C68 2005 (Book). This book is geared
to be somewhat comprehensive in its listings of sources, and it is fairly
current.
Discographies
Like a bibliography, the discography collects sources
of information, providing lists of recorded works in a genre, time period,
performer, instrument, composer, country, etc.
By instrument, genre, label, etc. (in alphabetical order): ML156
- ML156.4
Music
on Record, ML156.2 .G3 (Book). Covers recordings by major classical
composers up to the early 1960’s. Separate volumes for orchestral,
chamber and vocal music.
The
Blue Note Label: A Discography, ML156.4 .J3 C87 2001 (Book). A
listing of releases from the famed Blue Note jazz label since its inception
to 2001.
Discopaedia
of the Violin: 1889 -- 1971, ML156.4 .V5 C7 (Book).
A comprehensive listing of violin recordings from 1889 to 1971.
By individual composer (in alphabetical order) — ML156.5 A - Z
Ellingtonia:
The Recorded Music of Duke Ellington and His Sidemen, ML156.5
.E45 T5 1996 (Book). A discography of records put out by Duke Ellington,
as well as those by members of his band.
Mahler
Discography, ML156.5 .M33 F85 1995 (Book). A Mahler discography
including over 1,000 recordings.
By individual performer (in alphabetical order)—ML156.7 A -- Z
The
Sound of Miles Davis: The Discography: A Listing of Records and Tapes,
ML156.7 .D4 L64 1991 (Book). This listing aims to be comprehensive in its
coverage of the recordings of Miles Davis.
Reviews, indexes, etc. —ML156.9+
Recorded
Classical Music, ML156.9 .C63 1981 (Book). This discography is
directed at the composer’s works on record. Rather than a comprehensive
discography, it selects one recording and evaluates it.
Other—ML158+
The
Classical Reproducing Piano Roll: A Catalogue -- Index, ML158
.S58 1990 (Book). This is a listing and index of classical music “recorded” for
player -- piano. It is organized by performer and by title, and includes
the piano roll number (much like a record label imprint number).
The
Metropolitan Opera Guide to Opera on Video, ML158.6 .O6 M47 1997
(Book). This guide to opera on video is organized first by composer, then
by the title of the opera, and finally by individual video— including
a description and some analysis.
Iconographies
Iconographies are works that present the visual representation
of musical subjects, and sometimes the scholarship surrounding them.
Great
Composers, Great Artists: Portraits, ML87 .B76 1992 (Book). This
book consists of significant portraits of figures in Western music history.
Each portrait has an accompanying essay.
Music:
The Illustrated Guide to Music around the World From its Origins to the Present
Day, ML160 .B582 1991 (Book). Organized by region, and also includes “The
Western Tradition” and “World Music Today.” Large color
photographs and diagrams.
Musical Instruments
in Art and History, ML460 .B75 1968b (Book). A comprehensive book
focused on instruments of the Western art music tradition, with illustrations
and photos from a single museum in Brussels.
Musical
Instruments of the World : an Illustrated Encyclopedia, ML102 .I5
D5 (Book). This book aims to be comprehensive, and is organized by the type
of musical instrument, then by country, culture, etc. Consists of engraved
illustrations and diagrams.
Repetoire Internationale
d’Iconographie Musicale (Website). “The Répertoire
International d'Iconographie Musicale is an international project with the
objective of developing methods, means and research centers for the classification,
cataloguing, and study of iconographical material relating to music.” (From
the RIdIM website)
Research Center for Music
Iconography (Website). “RCMI’s collections
of photo -- reproductions of artworks, catalogue entries, and indices are the
only such guides assembled in the U.S. where one can easily locate visual
representations of any instrument or music -- making scene from antiquity to
the early 20th century.” (From the RCMI website)
Music Directories
These directories cover a variety
of organizations, colleges, programs, festivals, record labels, managers
and artists, amongst other things.
Billboard’s
International Buyer’s Guides, ML18 .I57 (Book). This directory
is geared towards the music business: labels, distributors, agents, and other
services. For the U.S., it is organized by state, and for international listings,
it is organized by country.
Directory
of Music Faculties in College and Universities, U.S. and Canada,
ML13 .D57 (Book). Published by the College Music Society, this book
is organized by state and then by institution, and includes indexes by name,
degrees held, teaching area, and institution.
European
Music Directory, ML21 .E9 E93 (Book). Comparable to Musical
America, this covers Europe in much greater detail. The first volume
covers, orchestras, competitions, festivals, etc., whereas the second volume
focuses on the music industry.
Musical America (Database),
alsoMusical
America, ML12 .M88 (Book). This is a print and an online directory.
It mostly covers the U.S. and Canada, by topic, along with a somewhat smaller
international section.
Music Journals
These are just some examples of scholarly
music journals. In order to be considered scholarly, a journal generally
should be: a) well -- respected by scholars, b) provide a forum for scholars
to discuss current issues in their field, c) refereed, so that each article
is judged, critiqued and edited by other scholars in the field, and d)
not wholly driven by advertising. You can find music journals in Chinook or
the E-Journal
Finder.
Cambridge
Opera Journal, ML1699 .C35 (Journal). The Cambridge Opera
Journal covers
the history and theory of European opera, as well as opera and musical
theatre in the U.S. It also includes scholarly articles about a number
of non -- Western musical theatre traditions. There are also reviews of
important publications on the study of opera.
Ethnomusicology,
ML1 .E77 (Journal). “Ethnomusicology features scholarly
articles representing theoretical perspectives and research in ethnomusicology
and related fields from an international perspective, as well as book,
record, and film reviews. A current bibliography, discography, and videography
are published on their website in conjunction with each journal issue.” (From
the publisher’s website)
International
Journal of Music Education, ML5 .I52 (Journal). Published three
times a year, each issue covers a special topic. The first issue is a research
topic, the second issue emphasizes a topic of international concern, and
the third issue concerns itself with issues in the practice of music education.
Journal
of the American Musicological Society, ML27 .U5 A83363 (Journal).
Like the field of musicology, this journal covers a lot of ground: historical
musicology, critical theory, music analysis, iconography, performance practice,
aesthetics and hermeneutics, ethnomusicology, gender and sexuality, popular
music and cultural studies—amongst others—are represented.
Journal
of Music Theory, ML1 .J728 (Journal). An excellent journal on
current topics in music theory, it is edited by members of the Department
of Music in Yale's Faculty of Arts and Sciences.
III. Subject Specific Resources
Music Theory
The
Cambridge History of Western Music Theory, ML3800 .C165 2002 (Book).
This is a comprehensive history of music theory in the West. Depending on
the topic, it may be chronological; otherwise it may cover a particular subject
rather than a time period.
Form
and Analysis Theory: A Bibliography, ML128 .T5 P45 1998 (Book).
A bibliography of form and analysis theory. It aims to be a comprehensive
listing of materials, but it lacks any sort of annotation or evaluation.
Music
Theory from Zarlino to Schenker : A Bibliography and Guide, ML128
.T5 D27 1990 (Book). This useful biographical dictionary of music theorists
gives biographies as well as introductory essays to their theories and
information on their works.
Musicology/Ethnomusicology
Doctoral Dissertations in
Musicology (Website). This is an international database of bibliographic
records for completed dissertations and new dissertation topics in the fields
of musicology, music theory, and ethnomusicology, as well as in related musical,
scientific, and humanistic disciplines.
The
Garland Encyclopedia of World Music, ML100 .G16
1998 (Book). Organized by region, the encyclopedia discusses each culture/country
in an introduction; then covers issues in the music, the processes involved
in music -- making, and includes case studies.
Grove
Music Online (Database). Grove Music Online comprises
the full text of The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, The
New Grove Dictionary of Opera, The Norton/Grove Dictionary of Women Composers,
and The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz.
Index
to Printed Music: Collections and Series (Database), formerly Collected
Editions, Historical Series & Sets, and Monuments of Music, ML113
.H55 1997 (Book). Similar in scope to Grove Music Online and Historical
Sets, Collected Editions…, but this work aims to be more selective.
It was compiled by a group of librarians, as opposed to single scholars.
Reader’s
Guide to Music: History, Theory, Criticism, ML160 .R42 1999
(Book). The Reader’s Guide gives an overview of key books
about a particular topic in music history, theory, and criticism. Its focus
is Western art music, and it largely covers books published in English.
RISM (Database),
alsoRépertoire
International des Sources Musicales, ML113 .I59 (Book). RISM documents
the world's musical sources of manuscripts or printed music, works on music
theory and libretti stored in libraries, archives, monasteries, schools
and private collections in an online index. The online part (Series A/II)
covers music manuscripts from 1600 -- 1800.
Music Education
Education:
A SAGE Full -- text Collection (Database). Includes the full text
of 26 peer -- reviewed journals published by SAGE and participating societies,
distinguished by up to 40 years of backfiles. Covers from 1965 -- present.
ERIC
(CSA) (Database). ERIC provides access to more than 1.2
million abstracts of journal articles and other education -- related materials.
Included is full -- text access to ERIC Documents (ED) from 1996 to present.
A
Guide to Research in Music Education, MT1 .P5 2005 (Book). This
substantial handbook is a collection of essays compiled by the MENC -- The National
Association for Music Education. It covers a breadth of topics, including
educational psychology, music teacher education, and research design.
Music Education Search System (Website).
This is a free index developed and is maintained by Edward P. Asmus, Ph.D.
It provides up-to-date indexing a handful of key music education journals,
as well as an index of pre -- 1965 sources and an index for Boletin De
Investigacio Educativo Musical, a major Latin American journal.
Music
Education Resource Base & Canadian
Music Index (Website). MERB/CMI is a bibliographic
database of more than 31,000 resources in music and music education from
35 Canadian and international journals and other sources covering the period
1956 through the present.
The
New Handbook of Research on Music Teaching and Learning, MT1 .H138
2002 (Book). A handbook designed to guide research projects in music education.
It covers qualitative & quantitative research, philosophical inquiry,
historical research and non -- experimental research.
Jazz
Grove
Music Online (Database), alsoThe
New Grove Dictionary of Jazz, ML102 .J3 N48 2002 (Book). Recently
updated (2002) and more in depth, this dictionary also lists essential recordings.
Jazz
Scholarship and Pedagogy, ML128 .J3 M33 2006 (Book). Basically
a second edition of a previous work, Jazz Scholarship and Pedagogy is
a full annotated bibliography of jazz scholarship, namely books and doctoral
theses. It is organized by type of source.
Penguin
Guide to Jazz on CD, ML156.4 .J3 C67 (Book). Designed to be comprehensive,
this book covers all types of jazz by genre, lists basic information about
the performers, and provides a review.
Voice
Grosses
Sängerlexikon, ML105 .K83 2003 (Book). Grosses Sangerlexikon (dictionary
of singers) is a German language encyclopedia of opera singers. It aims to
be selective, but includes historical and international figures.
Grove
Music Online (Database), alsoThe
New Grove Dictionary of Opera, ML102 .O6 N5 1992b (Book). The New
Grove Dictionary of Opera aims for more scholarly depth, as well as
adding breadth by including not only singers, composers, and other topics,
but also librettists, directors, patrons, impresarios, designers, etc. It
is 80% new material compared to the main New Grove Dictionary of Music
and Musicians.
Music
for the Voice: A Descriptive List of Concert and Teaching Material,
ML128 .V7 K3 1968 (Book). This book is designed for students, teachers, and
enthusiasts. It contains lists of songs, arranged by composer, along with
the range of each piece and comments about the peculiarities of each.
Singer's
Repertoire, ML128 .V7 C67 1960 (Book). The first four volumes
are listings of songs by genre, kind of song, or pedagogical use, each
volume covers a different voice type (sopranos, mezzo/alto, tenor, and
baritone/bass). The last volume is a collection of program notes.
IV. Useful Web -- Based Resources
Other Library Catalogs
The European Library --
This is a free catalog you can use to search European libraries as a group.
Although it is slow, it is useful for finding non -- English language materials,
as well as providing ideas for further investigation into Europe’s
libraries and digital collections.
Prospector -- Prospector is
a catalog that simultaneously searches academic and public libraries on the
front range of the Rockies, from Wyoming to Southern Colorado. You can use
it to request books as well.
Indiana's
List of Music Libraries -- This is a listing of music libraries
across the U.S., along with several entries for European libraries. Links
to their homepages and their catalogs are provided.
Library of Congress -- The
Library of Congress is the largest library in the world, in addition to being
the research arm of Congress. You can use its catalog to search their print
and online collections.
WorldCat.org -- This is a free
version of WorldCat. It is not as useful as the subscription version,
but it still has broad coverage, and is easy to access if you cannot connect
to the CU VPN.
Directories
Indiana's
List of Schools and Departments of Music -- The University of Indiana
School of Music put together this online directory of schools and departments
of music. It is international in scope, and is organized by country.
Musical America --
This is a print and an online directory. It mostly covers the U.S. and
Canada, by topic, along with a somewhat smaller international section.
Musical Online -- Musical
Online is an online listing of academic and performance web pages.
Music Publisher's Association --
The MPA represents
the interests of music publishers—print or otherwise—and provides
a listing of their 75 members, including BMI, ASCAP, Carl Fischer, Oxford
University Press, etc.
Professional Associations
American Musicological Society (AMS)
College Music Society (CMS)
International
Music Organizations (Directory)
Society for American Music
(SAM)
Society for Ethnomusicology
(SEM)
Society for Music Theory (SMT)
Other Scholarly Resources
Directory of Open Access Journals --
This is a searchable listing of free, full text, scholarly journals. There
are 800+ journals that are full -- text searchable, and over 2000+ that are
listed. There are 26
music journals.
Google Books -- Google
Books allows
users to search the full text of books from several major research libraries.
Sometimes it will only display parts or pages of a book. You are more likely
to find full text if the material was published before 1923.
Google Scholar -- Google
Scholar allows the public to search the full text of thousands of
journals online. If you go to the “Scholar Preferences” and then “Library
Links”, you can set up Scholar to provide links to CU’s full
-- text databases. There is only limited coverage in the arts and humanities.
Networked Digital Library of Theses
and Dissertations -- “The Networked Digital Library
of Theses and Dissertations (NDLTD) is an international
organization dedicated to promoting the adoption, creation, use, dissemination
and preservation of electronic analogues to the traditional paper --
based theses and dissertations.” (From
the NDLTD website)
Music Magazines
Gramophone -- “Gramophone
Online includes a daily international classical music news service, features
and competitions and details of all Gramophone publications. The site also
hosts Gramofile, an online database of CD reviews stretching back to 1983,
which is the world's largest archive of record reviews.” (From the
Gramophone website)
New Music Box (American Music Center) -- Strictly
a web -- based resource, this focuses on new music and musicology in an array
of news, blogs, short articles, interviews, features, and video. It is largely
academic affair but occasionally crosses over into popular music.
Opera News -- An
online version ofOpera
News, missing some subscriber content, but more up-to-date.
It includes a fairly comprehensive opera directory.
Pitchfork -- Pitchfork is
an online music review site that also has news and interviews/features. It
mostly focuses independent and underground pop/rock music, with the occasional
foray into avant -- garde art music. They have extensive archives of their
reviews.
Playbill Arts -- This
is the online version of Playbill Arts, covering classical, opera,
jazz and dance news, amongst others. It is usually pretty quick on picking
up news stories, and includes feature -- length articles as well. It also has
a section of listings by art form/genre.
Rolling Stone -- The
website has similar content to the magazine (rock/pop/politics), but the
online version has more editorial content and more up-to-date news.
Updated 8/24/2007 by Joseph Grobelny
|
 |
 |