UCB Libraries

Research Guide for Political Science

Using the tabs below you can discover books, articles, statistics, primary sources and much more to help with your research. If you have trouble at any point in the process set up a research appointment with Jennie Gerke, the bibliographer for Political Science, either by email or phone (303-735-6804).

  • Finding Books
  • Finding Articles
  • Finding Statistics
  • Finding Primary Sources
  • Additional Guides

+ Finding books at CU

Finding books at CU generally starts with a search of Chinook, the library's catalog.

 

Sample Search:

For additional sample subject headings to use you can check out "Sample Subject Headings" below.

 

Want to know about New Political Science titles? Check out the page in Chinook or sign up for the RSS feed. RSS Feeds

+ Finding books not at CU
There are two major library catalogs to search for materials not available at CU.

Prospector

Prospector is a union library catalog of 23 libraries in Colorado and Wyoming. CU students, staff and faculty can request materials not held by CU (or currently checked out) through Prospector. To do this, click on the "Request this item" link and type in your identikey and password (these are the same username and password you use to login to CUConnect and CULearn). The materials requested through this database generally (if they are available at another library) take 3-5 business days to arrive.

WorldCat CU

WorldCat is a union library catalog of library catalogs from across the world. Requesting materials through this database is an ILL request. To learn more about ILL, check out their web page.
+ Browsing the Shelves
Below are some call number ranges that pertain to Political Science, all of them are generally found in Norlin Stacks (see this map). To find out where other subject areas are located in the libraries, consult the Call Number Location Chart.

J General legislative and executive papers
JA Political science (General)
JC Political theory
JF Political institutions and public administration
JJ Political institutions and public administration (North America)
JK Political institutions and public administration (United States)
JL Political institutions and public administration (Canada, Latin America, etc.)
JN Political institutions and public administration (Europe)
JQ Political institutions and public administration (Asia, Africa, Australia, Pacific Area, etc.)
JS Local government. Municipal government
JV Colonies and colonization. Emigration and immigration. International migration
JZ International relations

+ Sample Subject Headings
Below are some selected subject headings for finding books in Political Science. Clicking on the subject headings will take you to the browse list in Chinook, the CU library catalog.

United States

International Relations

+ Finding articles at CU

Find Articles and More


This is the main site to use to find all the databases available at CU. There are a few categories that you may be most interested in:

Reference/Starting Resources

  • CQ Electronic Library CU
    CQ Electronic Library is a collection of resources put out by CQ Press. While this is not a collection of peer-reviewed articles, it is a great reference source for articles on politics in the United States. It also has voting records and election results for presidential, congressional and gubernatorial elections.
  • ABC-Clio eBook Collection CU
    This is a collection of reference sources on topics ranging from environmental issues to 19th Century France. This is a great place to go when you are trying to get an overview of a topic.
Indexes of Political Science Research

  • PAIS CU
    PAIS, or the Public Affairs Information Service, has been indexing global policy issues since 1915. This database contains abstracts of articles, books, working papers and much more. This database does not contain full-text articles, but using Find it CU you should be able to find copies of the majority of the resources in this database. (Problems using Find it at CU? Check out the How Do I guide.)
  • International Political Science Abstracts CU
    International Political Science Abstracts indexes periodicals from all over the world. Unlike PAIS, this database only contains abstracts of articles. Again since this is an index of materials, you will need to use Find it at CU to discover if we have a copy in our collection.

Want to access these databases from off-campus? Check out the off-campus guide for help.

+ Getting articles from PASCAL
Many of our journals have been sent off site to a location called PASCAL. If you want a copy of an article from one of these journals there are two options.

Option 1: Get a Copy Electronically
  1. Get your citation. You may have a citation to the article in a bibliography or maybe you found it using a database, either way will work.
  2. Go to ILLiad (you will need to login using your identikey and password, the same one you use to login to CUConnect and CULearn).
  3. Click on "Article (delivered electronically)" under "New Requests."
  4. Type in all the citation information you can here. The more you include the better, but don't worry if you can't fill in all the fields. Only the ones with the asterisks are required.
  5. Click "Submit Request" at the bottom.
  6. You can now logout of ILLiad, you will get an email when your article has been scanned.
  7. There will be a link in your email to ILLiad, after you login click on "Electronically Received Articles" under "View."
  8. This whole process should only take 1 business day.
Option 2: Get the Journal at the Library

  1. Get your citation. You may have a citation to the article in a bibliography or maybe you found it using a database, either way will work.
  2. Go to Chinook and type in the Journal title (if you are looking at a bibliographic citation this is generally the title in italics).
  3. Choose the record with title that does not have [electronic resource] next to it.
  4. At the top of the page click on the "REQUEST IT!" button or click "Request it" under the title in the main screen.
  5. Login using your identikey and password and choose a pickup location.
  6. Choose the volume you want. (At this time you can only choose one volume at a time, if you need to recall a large set of volumes, please contact Circulation for assistance.)
  7. Hit the "Request Selected Item" button.
  8. You will get an email when your volume arrives, which should be within 1 business day.
Starting Points for Statistics

  • Statistical Abstract of the United States
    The Statistical Abstract is updated every year and is available in print and electronic form. This is the best source for starting your search for US statistics. While the tables in this resource may not match your needs exactly, the citations can lead you to the group that gathers those statistics so you can search their site for what you need.
  • UNData
    This is the source for statistics gathered by the numerous UN agencies and affiliates. The database lets you search for information on individual countries or for collections of statistics by issue or database.
  • Statistics--United States (data)
    This is a collection of databases with data on the United States.
  • Statistics--Worldwide (data)
    This is a collection of databases with data for the whole world.
Strategies for Discovering the data you need

  1. Who else is interested in your data?
    If you are having trouble finding data that you are looking for think about who else might be interested in this information. For example, imagine you want information on how many students are home schooled in the United States. The United States Department of Education may be interested in this information and if you go to the National Center for Education Statistics (part of the Department of Education), you will find a number of publications on home schooling.
  2. Is the data I want too recent?
    While information is released faster and faster, statistics still take a while to compile. This means that for the majority of resources, data from the current year or even last year may not be available when you want them. For example, the US Department of Justice's Uniform Crime Reports (the number of crimes committed) routinely takes almost 2 years to be released.
  3. Have you checked for the data in non-internet sources?
    More and more data is available online every day, but for some areas the data may still only be available in another format, such as a CD or book. One of the major databases for finding these sources is Statistical. This database contains many of the tables it indexes, but we have copies of all the materials in hard copy (print or microfiche) in the Government Information Library.
  4. Ask for help
    If you still are having trouble, contact the Political Science bibliographer, Jennie Gerke, by email or phone (303-735-6804) for assistance.
A primary source is a document, object, or other evidence about the topic you are investigating that was created during the time period under study. It provides direct evidence and thus offers an inside view into events of the period. Primary sources come in many forms: documents (diaries, letters, speeches, government documents, books, periodicals, interviews); creative works (novels, music, poetry); and artifacts (photos, pottery, clothing). (For more info, check out the finding primary sources guide.)
+ Finding Materials in the Catalog

There are many primary sources available in the Libraries, including paper documents such as books, pamphlets, broadsides, and manuscripts, as well as electronic and microform collections. You can locate relevant items by searching in Chinook, the library catalog.

Tips for Searching Chinook

  • Do a keyword search on your topic, remember to think of synonyms for your search terms. For example, labor or work or employment. You can even try all these words at once, for example, check out this search in Chinook for "(labor or work or employment) and World War and narratives," to see narratives on work during the World Wars.
    Note: British spelling is used in many of the international titles in English. So if you are looking for international materials, keep those spelling differences in mind. E.g. labor is labour.
  • As the above search demonstrated, adding special subject terms that identify primary materials: sources (more general), correspondence, diaries, early works, narratives, pamphlets, speeches, letters, documents, etc. can help narrow down your result set.
  • You can also try an author search on a particular figure during the time period you are studying.
  • Don't forget to follow those "Subject" links in the full records for a title for more resources on that topic.

+ Finding Newspapers and Historical Databases


To learn how to find a newspaper article on your topic, check out this guide to finding newspapers.

 

Finding Historical Databases

Check out these collections of the major databases containing primary sources:

+ Finding Government Publications
The CU-Boulder library contains government resources from the local to international level. While many of these resources can be found using Chinook, the library catalog, the historical material is generally uncataloged. There are a number of resources to find these materials and if you don't find what you are looking for here, send an email or call 303-492-8834 for assistance finding material.

Indexes to Historic Material

  • Monthly Catalog of US Government Publications CU
    This is an index to publications from the United States government from 1895-1976. You will find call numbers on the records for the majority of the titles in this database and they will match the call numbers of the piece in the library stacks. The materials published after this date should all be in the catalog.
  • AccessUN CU
    This is an index to the publications of the United Nations from its foundation to the present. The call numbers you find on the records in this catalog are the same ones that will be on the materials in the library stacks.
Historical Collections (a small selection)

  • US Congressional Serial Set CU
    The Serial Set is a collection of the reports and documents of Congress. In the early days of the United States it was also the place many reports and documents of Executive Branch agencies were printed. When the digitization is complete this database will contain 13,800 volumes with over 11 million pages.
  • Congressional CU
    This database has indexes and full-text access to additional Congressional materials, such hearings, committee prints, Congressional Research Service Reports, and the Congressional Record. The index of these materials goes back to 1789 (the first congress).
The library has created numerous guides that may be of use to your research in Political Science. The easiest way to access these guides is to use the Research and Subject Guides Database, which lets you search or browse through all the guides in the library.

A Selection of Useful Guides

  • How Do I?
    These are quick guides to doing basic library tasks, such as renewing a book, accessing databases from off campus, and much more.
  • Country and Territory Guides
    This is a collection of guides to every country in the world. These guides contain links to primary sources, statistics, analysis, and databases on each country.
  • Congress and Legislation
    This is a collection of resources on the United States Congress and legislative resources from the Government Information Library.
  • Declassified Documents
    This guide, from the Government Information Library, provides links to electronic and print resources on declassified documents.
  • Presidents
    This guide, from the Government Information Library, provides links to resources on the office of the Presidency.
Instruction Guides
Current Semester
  • None
Previous Courses